Enrichment Programs

  • Jobs, volunteering, enrichment opportunities, and summer programs are all great ways to gain experience and explore different areas of interest.  The list below can be used to research different enrichment opportunities and summer programs.  Many colleges also have summer programs that are not individually listed below.  If you are interested in attending a summer program at a specific college or university please visit their sites directly.  Also, please keep in mind that this list is for informational purposes only and these programs are not endorsed by Leyden High Schools.

Art

Opportunity Link
Digital Storytelling Workshop: Loyola University http://highschooldigital.com/
Discover Architecture: University of Illinois http://www.arch.illinois.edu/degrees/discover-architecture-pre-college-program
Fine and Applied Arts Summer Intensive: University of Illinois http://faa.illinois.edu/future-students/faa-summer-intensive
Summer in the Arts Camp: Northern Illinois http://artscamps.niu.edu
High School Competitions: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign https://faa.illinois.edu/future-students/high-school-competitions

Business

Opportunity Link
Young Women’s Institute: Kelley School of Business, Indiana University http://kelley.iu.edu/ugrad/PreCollege/YWI/page39078.html

Languages

Opportunity Link
Spanish Immersion Camp for High School Students: Eastern Illinois University http://www.eiu.edu/language/camp.php

Leadership/General

Opportunity Link
Summer Seminar: US Naval Academy http://www.usna.edu/Admissions/Programs/NASS/index.php
United States Senate Youth Program http://ussenateyouth.org/
Student Leaders Program: Bank of America http://www.bankofamerica.com/studentleaders
American Legion Illinois Boys State- Before applying, contact Mr. Zito at tjzito@yahoo.com for potential scholarship opportunities. http://www.illinoisboysstate.org
American Legion Illinois Girls State- Before applying, contact Mrs. Zito at cczito3228@yahoo.com for potential scholarship opportunities. http://ilgirlsstate.org/
Summer Honors Program: Indiana State http://www.indstate.edu/experience
Young Ambassadors Program: Smithsonian Latino Center http://www.latino.si.edu/education/yap
Summer Academy Programs: Augustana College http://www.augustana.edu/academics/summer-academy
Leadership High School Summer Program: Lewis University http://www.lewisu.edu/learningtolead/

Medical

Opportunity Link
Camp Cardiac http://www.campcardiac.org
Camp Neuro http://www.campneuro.org/
Careers in Pharmacy Summer Program: Midwestern University http://www.midwestern.edu/careersinpharmacy
Veterinary Mentoring Program: Anti-Cruelty Society http://anticruelty.org/services-local-resources/society-programs-services/teen-programs/veterinary-mentoring-program/
Marquette University Clinical Laboratory Science Young Scholar Program http://www.marquette.edu/clinical-laboratory-science/young-scholar.shtml
Careers in Pharmacy Summer Program: Midwestern University http://www.midwestern.edu/careersinpharmacy/

Music

Opportunity Link
Summer Music Camp: Greenville College http://www.greenville.edu/musiccamp

STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)

Opportunity Link
Introduction to Engineering Summer Program: Notre Dame (See Mr. Holthouse or Ms. Wine for scholarship opportunities). http://www3.nd.edu/~iep/
Science Summer Programs for High School Students: IIT http://admissions.iit.edu/summer/middle-and-high-school-students
Summer STEM Program: US Naval Academy http://www.usna.edu/Admissions/Programs/STEM/
Women In Engineering Summer Program: UIC http://wiep.engr.uic.edu/wiesp/
Summer Wings Aviation Camp: Southern Illinois University http://aviation.siu.edu/management/community/summer-wings.php
Engineering Summer Program: The University of Wisconsin-Madison http://www.engr.wisc.edu/academics/student-services/diversity-programs/engineering-summer-program/
Illinois Tech Global Leaders Program: IIT http://blogs.iit.edu/global-leaders/apply/
iSTEAM: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign https://faa.illinois.edu/future-students/summer-programs/isteam
Women in Engineering Summer Youth Program: Michigan Technological University http://www.syp.mtu.edu
Engineering Scholars Program: Michigan Technological University http://www.syp.mtu.edu
Summer Science Academy: North Park University https://www.northpark.edu/event/summer-science-academy/
Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day, UIC http://wiep.engr.uic.edu/iged/
Summer Programs in Architecture: IIT http://arch.iit.edu/study/intro
Minority Engineering & Technology Enrichment Camp for Young Men: University of Dayton http://www.go.udayton.edu/metec
Discovering the World Through Science: WIU http://www.wiu.edu/sao/outreach/youth_enrichment/Science18%20BrochUpdated.pdf

Additional Resources

Opportunity Link
IACAC’s Summer Programs for High School Students Directory https://www.iacac.org/summer-programs/#summerprograms2016/?view_21_view=month&view_21_date=%222016-02-26T14%3A52%3A33.520Z%22