Return to Headlines

Leyden celebrates officials

The Leyden Board of Education is made up of seven, unpaid, elected officials who represent the voice of our communities and serve in the interests of students. Board members include President Greg Ignoffo, Vice President Gloria Murawska, Secretary Jim Lima, Lisa Anthony, Sandy Boehm, Cesar Garcia and Joe Trevino.

Recently, the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) awarded the designation of “Achievable” to Ignoffo, Lima, Anthony, Trevino and Boehm for their continued attendance and participation in learning activities. They also designated Murawska as a “Legacy Board Leader,” for her status as a Distinguished Board Leader, plus 25 or more years of service.

In order to recognize the outstanding efforts of nearly 6,000 elected school board officials, the state of Illinois has designed November 15 as “School Board Members Day.” According to the state, this is an opportunity to build community awareness and understanding about the essential role locally elected board of education members assume in a representative democracy.